Following my life and work at the Cheetah Conservation Fund

Back Again

I know I haven’t made any posts in the past few months as my internship with CCF ended back in August, but some exciting things have been taking place recently so I thought I would post a quick update. Even though I left CCF back in August, my relationship with CCF did not end and I continued to help in any way I could remotely from the States, and I was invited to go back to CCF during Christmas break between semesters in school. And so after celebrating Christmas early with my family, I departed for Namibia and have been here since. It’s absolutely wonderful to be back and almost as soon as I arrived I was thrown right back into things as if I never left. The Okakarara Ambassadors seemed to recognize me immediately and I was very happy to see them as well. There are a lot of new interns and volunteers here and even a couple of new staff members, so it’s been fun getting to know everyone and what their role at CCF is. I don’t have much right now but I’ll post again soon. Merry Christmas to everyone and I’ve put up some pictures of the OK cubs (who really aren’t cubs anymore)… they have grown so much since I left. The picture above is of route B1 from Windhoek to Otjiwarongo.

-Eli

The road to CCF from Otjiwarongo
The ambassadors
Kaijay
7 responses

  1. brigitte

    What a pleasure to read you again! Lucky boy you are returning back CCF!
    Don’t hesitate, tell us all about your daylife at CCF! You enjoy us!
    Have a good stay
    Brigitte

    December 26, 2011 at 8:05 am

  2. Margaret Wilkie

    What a fantastic Christmas present to you—and to CCF, too, to have you there. I know you are having a blast. See, Eli? You kept the cheetahs in your heart, and you returned. I have a feeling you will always return……

    December 26, 2011 at 2:58 pm

  3. Sven

    Hi Eli. My name is Sven Tolksdorf – don’t try to spell it out, I know it can be complicated for American people. I’m a 20 year old student from Berlin, Germany, and I found your amazing blog some weeks ago while I was surfing in the internet. Thanks for your beautiful pictures and the deep view into your daily life there.
    Why am I writing here? What do I want from you? I’m interested in wildlife and I would like to volunteer at CCF next year or 2013 and I think it would be pretty cool to talk to someone who has much experience doing that. It would help me a lot when I knew someone who can answer my questions and give me useful hints. So is it possible that you give me your email address? You only have to write an email (it can be empty) to the following address: sc.tolksdorf@googlemail.com

    I know that my English is not the best. So when you find some mistakes you can collect them.

    Sven

    December 27, 2011 at 11:42 am

  4. Debbie Morris

    CONGRATULATIONS!

    December 27, 2011 at 1:37 pm

  5. Good to have you back, Eli. We look forward to living vicariously through your future posts. With thanks for your dedication and unique insights, Robb

    December 29, 2011 at 2:59 pm

  6. Márk Poósz

    Hi Eli, it’s nice to have you back at CCF and read your blog again, and of course to see those beautiful pictures.
    Have a great time there and keep us up to date.

    Mark.

    December 29, 2011 at 10:05 pm

  7. Gazeilles

    Eli, happy new year to you, and it’s nice to see you at CCF, for your reports and your pictures, good luck to you…Bernard.

    January 1, 2012 at 4:44 am

Leave a Reply

