Following my life and work at the Cheetah Conservation Fund

Hello

This summer, I will be working amongst the world’s leader in cheetah conservation… the Cheetah Conservation Fund. I was accepted for a student internship position and on May 29th, 2011 I shall be arriving in Otjiwarongo, Namibia… the location of the CCF Headquarters. I am very excited for this opportunity and I plan on making the most out of my experience. I’m not exactly sure on my specific responsibilities as of yet, as that is determined when I arrive, however whatever I am assigned I shall do my best at. I’ll be documenting my time at the CCF in its entirety here, so I hope you follow along. If you would like to receive an email notification of whenever I post something new, there is a box titled “Email Subscription” where you can sign-up at the bottom of the page (don’t worry, no spam mail). For more information on the Cheetah Conservation Fund or myself, look to the other pages of this blog. Feel free to ask questions or comment below. Until next time…

– Eli

Namibia, Cheetah, CCF, Africa

The CCF is located in Otjiwarongo, near the upper-middle portion of Namibia

7 responses

  1. Gretchen

    Hey Eli,
    Just wanted to give you a shoutout. I saw a link to this on a CCF Facebook post a while ago and I thought your adventures would be interesting to follow. I am also a college student doing summer internships but nowhere near as exotic as working for CCF in Namibia! I am sure you will have an incredible experience and I look forward to reading about it (figured if I was reading your blog I should at least introduce myself, right?) Safe travels!
    Cheers,
    Gretchen

    May 26, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    • ehwalker91

      Hey Gretchen,
      It’s good to hear from you and meet you (I guess…. at least halfway haha). Are you majoring in something wildlife oriented?

      Eli

      May 26, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      • Gretchen

        That was a quick reply!
        It’s a bit of a long story.. my major is Animal Biology but in my major we basically get to choose what upper division courses we take, as long as we can justify it, so I am taking a lot of wildlife and conservation classes. My concentrations are Conservation and Reproductive Biology and the only way I could study both fields was to have this flexible major (that was a bit of a novel, sorry.. although I did warn you).

        May 26, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      • ehwalker91

        That’s really cool, conservation bio is something I’m really interested in… as well as reproductive biology, I was thinking something along those lines for grad school if I decide to go to grad school.

        May 26, 2011 at 11:15 pm

  2. Gretchen

    Sounds like we are in the same boat!
    What exactly are you going to be doing with CCF?
    Cheetahs are pretty much a great example of both fields because they need so much help. This fall I did a semester at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute in Virginia that included an internship in the Gamete Lab there. My project was working on quantifying characteristics of gazelle sperm but everyone around me was working on cheetah stuff so I got a lot of exposure to it. They do definitely have problems, which is the fascinating stuff to me! I hope you get to experience and help alleviate their problems.. what an opportunity for you!

    May 27, 2011 at 1:33 am

  3. I want to tell you that it never slows down at CCF. I think that was actually one of the things I loved about it. So much to do, see and learn. Your pictures are beautiful and I do appreciate reliving my time there through your blog and pictures.

    Debbie Morris
    2003

    June 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    • ehwalker91

      Thank you!

      June 23, 2011 at 2:47 pm

Leave a Reply

