Following my life and work at the Cheetah Conservation Fund

Hello again…

Wow! Almost an entire year has passed since my last post, and for that I am sorry. The past year has been crazy and so much has happened so I’ll do my best to quickly get y’all back up to speed with what’s been going on.

The 2012-2013 school year was my senior year of college so I’m happy to say that I’m now a college graduate holding a Bachelors of Science with two majors; Wildlife Biology and Captive Wildlife Care and Education. My senior year was crazy between 16 credit hours; an extra 3 credits that I sat in on voluntarily (without receiving the credits as I wasn’t officially enrolled in the course); and my senior thesis but it was a great last year for sure. I graduated on May 18th (as Valedictorian by the way ;) ) and have since been at home getting things ready for the next chapter, which is, of course, the best news of all!

Earlier this year, the Cheetah Conservation Fund offered me a full-time position as a research technician! I obviously accepted (as the new blog title takes into account), so tomorrow evening I’ll be headed off to Namibia to start my first job post-graduation. Words can’t describe my excitement and I can’t imagine anywhere else I’d rather be. Every trip to Namibia previously has always had an end date to which I regrettably counted the days. This time however, there is no set end date and that is a great feeling for sure. I will try to make updates regularly (definitely no year log gaps this time!) about what’s going on in Namibia so I hope you’ll all follow along, as it’s going to be great! Please feel free to share and remember that you can subscribe to get email updates! Talk to you all soon!

- Eli

7 responses

  1. Margaret Wilkie

    So happy for you, Eli! I TOLD you the babies would call you back! You’ll truly be a blessing to them and everyone you meet there. I’ll be coming there on July 7th and will be staying for two months, so I will look forward to meeting you face to face!

    June 24, 2013 at 12:44 am

    • ehwalker91

      Oh great! It’ll be great to meet you. I know you’ll love your time there… there’s nothing quite like it!

      June 24, 2013 at 12:58 am

  2. Debbie Morris

    Fantastic Eli! Laurie knows a good thing when she sees it. Maybe some time after I retire (yes you are beginning your career and in fours years or less mine will end) I can return to CCF and I can meet you in person. In the mean time I look forward to your posts and pictures. Again CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    June 24, 2013 at 12:54 am

    • ehwalker91

      Thanks, hope you can make it back too!

      June 24, 2013 at 12:58 am

  3. Nice to see you back!
    Congratulations for the graduation, and for the full-time position at CCF!
    Getting that right after graduation must be like a dream come true. (or at least it would be my dream :) )
    I wonder if I can ever get there for a 1+ month internship within the next few years, it would be really nice to “follow your path”.
    Anyways, hoping to see some more amazing pictures and stories from you!

    June 24, 2013 at 7:29 am

  4. Chandler

    Hey Eli!

    I just wanted to stop by and congratulate you on graduating and your upcoming new journey! I was so happy your parents came by Sharon a while back because I caught up with them and they told me all about everything you had coming up! Just want to wish you the best of luck and I hope you are doing well! I will continue keeping up with your posts!

    Chandler

    June 24, 2013 at 9:11 am

  5. Sven Tolksdorf

    Congratulation. This is how it should be done. Fighting for it until you got the job. Or did the perfect job find you? I’m sure – there aren’t many people with this endless devotion…

    Volunteering is one thing; making the decision to leave the States is something totally different. And for doing so, you deserves much respect.

    June 25, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers