Following my life and work at the Cheetah Conservation Fund

Back in the States

So I apologize for not posting updates as frequently as I would have liked, but at CCF everyone is always so busy it’s sometimes hard to find time to do it. This will again be my last post for a while, however fortunately I will be returning to CCF in May for a second internship and thesis work so I will pick up the blog again and continue on. I’m very excited to be going back, but I have a few months to wait first, but you can expect new posts around mid to late May.

So as the title says, I’m now back in the States and at school. The last week or so of my stay at CCF this past trip was as exciting as always. All of the interns and some of the staff did another Waterberg hike which was a lot of fun. Things look so different in the summer than they do in the winter because everything is so green. I’ll post a picture of the Waterberg from this past trip, but if you want to see what I’m talking about just look back to some of the Waterberg pictures from earlier posts during the summer.

My last day at CCF (last Wednesday) we ran the OK Ambassadors in the big field for the first time. Suzie and I spent much of the day making the preparations for the run, and that evening after most everyone finished their work, we loaded up and headed out to the big field. The run went great and the “cubs” loved it. Mar, an intern from Holland, took some great video which I got from her, so hopefully we can put something together and have it uploaded for everyone to see. I was hoping to take pictures of the run, however I forgot to charge my camera batteries (which was very stupid of me) so I was unable to do so, but it was great just watching them run. They are by far the fastest runners we have at CCF and they are still only 16 months old!

Thanks everyone for following along, I know there isn’t much in this post but I’ll try to make up for it with pictures. If anyone has any questions please just let me know. CCF relies on support from people like you and if it wasn’t for the support from private donations, CCF would not exist today. So please, if you are interested, visit CCF’s website at www.cheetah.org and find out how you can get involved. There are so many ways to help, so regardless of who you are there is something you can do to help. Thanks again and I look forward to posting in May! Until then…

- Eli

Cheetah sculpture outside CCF’s museum
Senay
Waterberg Plateau during the summer
lonely tree on top of the Waterberg
our Waterberg hike group
The group before our New Years game drive
Baby Kori Bustard and mother… no one we talked to had seen a baby before. This might be one of the best pictures I have ever taken.
close up of the baby
the OK Ambassadors feeding
Kaijay
Kaijay and Peter
4 responses

  1. Great post and great pictures like each time ! thanks Eli ! I will follow you in May !!

    January 18, 2012 at 2:39 pm

  2. Sven Tolksdorf

    Hi Eli, I’m sitting here in Berlin late in the night in front of my notebook, making some calculations for the university and drinking lot of coffee. Outside it is cold and it rains.

    Now I have a short brake to relax a moment. While I do this I’m reading your blog. It’s like a little trip to Africa and back again in only five minutes. Looking at these cool pictures and reading your last updates helps a lot to refresh and reboot my mind to go on with my stupid calculations and charts.

    Thanks a lot for the update and I hope you post again in May.
    Sven Tolksdorf

    January 18, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  3. Márk Poósz

    Thanks for the beautiful pictures again, It is so nice to watch those amazing cheetahs on such good quality photos, I can’t wait to see more in May

    January 18, 2012 at 7:29 pm

  4. NEW DİSCOVERY! LOVE İT.

    January 19, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers